Healthy Lunch Ideas

I think that deciding what to eat for lunch can sometimes be very difficult. You want to have something healthy that will get you through the rest of the day but you also don’t want to spend as much preparing it as you would with a dinner. That is why I have created a list of my all-time favorite lunch recipes that are healthy, filling, and take less than 30 minutes to prepare!

1. Veggie Pizza

Ingredients:

-Whole-wheat tortilla

-Pizza sauce

-Mozzarella cheese

-Favorite vegetables

Ok I pretty much have this everyday. This meal is incredibly quick and easy but it tastes amazing! Pizza is often deemed an “unhealthy” food but when you prepare yourself it can actually be quite nutritious. When I make a “Veggie Pizza” I like to use bell peppers, green onions, zucchini, and kale or spinach. It might sound absolutely disgusting to many of you (I was very hesitant at first as well) but I HIGHLY recommend trying it out. My brother and dad are certainly not vegetable fans but they even liked my kale-loaded pizzas. Remember, you don’t have to use the vegetables I use, try out some of your favorites!

2.  Roasted vegetable salad

Ingredients:

-Olive oil

-Favorite vegetables

-Seasonings of choice

I considered myself to be quite a big salad fan but I don’t always crave them, especially on cold days where I want a nice warm meal. That is why I suggest making a salad using your favorite vegetables roasted. You will get all of the nutrients of a salad but with the toasty goodness of roasted veggies. Some of the best vegetables to roast together (at least in my opinion) are butternut squash, broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes, and brussel sprouts. They all absorbed each others flavors and it ends up tasting amazing! An important note to keep in mind though is that not all vegetables take the same amount of time to roast. For example butternut squash often takes longer than other veggies so I recommend putting that in the oven first and then add the other ingredients as time progresses. For extra flavor, I suggest tossing your vegetables in some olive oil and seasoning them with your seasonings of choice before placing them in the oven. I also like to add pecans or sliced almonds to my salad as well!

3.  Homemade Chipotle Bowl

Ingredients:

-Quinoa

-Meat of choice

-Favorite Chipotle toppings

I am one of those people that believes that Chipotle is a gift that has been sent to us from the heavens. It is so good! However it’s not the most nutritious choice for lunch. This may actually surprise a lot of people because when you look at the ingredients in your bowl, they aren’t too bad. I always fill mine up with brown rice, chicken, lettuce, fajita vegetables, salsa, and cheese. These foods really aren’t bad at all and they have the potential of being quite nutritious, however, at Chipotle (like most restaurants) there is so much added salt and fat that makes these foods pretty bad. My typically bowl, for example, has roughly 1400 grams of sodium! When I make my bowl at home, it has about 1/10 of that.

To prepare your own Chipotle bowl, simply cook up some quinoa on the stove (or microwave) and add it to a bowl with your other favorite toppings. That’s it! Besides severely reducing the excess salt, making your own bowl puts you in control of portion sizes. I find that a lot of times Chipotle goes slightly heavy on things like cheese and guacamole. At home you can control just how much you want!

These are my 3 favorite healthy lunch ideas. They all offer great nutrition while still satisfying your hunger and cravings. They are also all pretty simple and quick to make so it won’t take up too much of your time. Let me know what your lunches are or if you try any of these out!

Leave a Reply

