Healthy Breakfast Ideas

As I discussed in my last post, breakfast is my absolute favorite part of the morning and it is essential for kick starting a productive day. Up until I started my health journey I pretty much lived off of cereal. I would eat bowls and bowls of it every morning without knowing the damage it was doing to my body. Not only does cereal contain little nutrients but it is packed full of sugar and processed ingredients that don’t provide good fuel for our bodies. After realizing this, I began to switch up my breakfast choices. The three recipies I’m about to share with you are some of my favorites because not only do they taste great but they provide my body with good nutrients and the fuel necessary to get me through the day!

1. Peanut butter oatmeal 

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup rolled oats

-1 tbsp. peanut butter

-1 tbsp. cinnamon

-1 banana or 1 serving of other fruit

This is probably my favorite recipe out of the three. This peanut butter oatmeal is delicious and perfect for mornings when I want something warm and yummy right when I get up. Also, oats contain lots of fiber which will help satisfy your hunger and keep you feeling full until your next meal. This is great if you have long activities in the morning and you want to have lasting energy to get you through them.

Procedure:

To make this peanut butter oatmeal, simply prepare your rolled oats by following the instructions on the package. For the brand I use, I bring 1 cup of water to a boil on the stove, reduce it to a simmer, and then add the 1/2 cup of oats. It normally takes about 10 minutes for the oats to be ready and at this point I add my other ingredients. I like to stir in 1 tablespoon of peanut butter and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Once they are combined in the oatmeal, I take the pot off of the stove and transfer the contents to a bowl. Toppings are optional but my favorites include banana slices, strawberries, or sliced almonds.

Adding healthy fats to your breakfast (such as peanut butter) will also contribute to keeping you full all morning!

2. Veggie scramble

Ingredients:

-2 egg whites

-milk or milk substitute

-vegetables of choice (my favorites: spinach, red bell pepper, zucchini, green onions)

This breakfast is packed full of great nutrients! Egg whites contain protein which is often a neglected nutrient in the morning. Eating protein in the morning will not only keep you feeling full throughout the entire day but it will also reduce your desire to snack later on. I personally see a big difference in my day when I eat a high protein breakfast. My cravings decrease and I don’t constantly feel the need to reach for snacks. The vegetables in this meal will also provide your body with great vitamins and minerals. They will help kick start your day in the right direction!

Procedure:

Start off this meal by sautéing the vegetables in a medium-sized pan. I usually use red bell pepper, zucchini, spinach and green onions. (I like to sauté them in coconut oil which is a great healthy fat that will keep me full all morning!) Once your vegetables are cooked, lower the temperature of the stove and prepare your eggs. I like to use egg whites but whole eggs are excellent as well because the yolk contains healthy fats. Add milk or a milk substitute (I use almond milk) to the egg whites and whisk them together. Once they are thoroughly whisked, pour the mixture into the pan with the vegetables. As the eggs begin to cook, stir them around with the veggies creating a nice scramble. Once the eggs are completely cooked, remove the pan from the stove and serve!

I often serve the scramble on top of more spinach to get in extra vegetables. I love this breakfast on days where I know that I might not have the most nutrient friendly meals later on in the day.

3. Green smoothie

Ingredients:

-1 banana

-1 cup spinach

-1 cup almond milk

-1 tbsp. peanut butter

-1 tsp. honey

Oh my gosh, a green smoothie!?! I know, I know, but trust me! This smoothie is actually delicious and I guarantee you will feel amazing drinking it!

Procedure:

Add all of the ingredients to a blender. Blend. Ignore the color. Drink. Enjoy!

This smoothie tastes like peanut butter and bananas which are two of my all time favorite foods. I love to make it the night before busy mornings where I know I won’t have much time to make a breakfast. I keep it in the fridge so that I have a nice, refreshing treat to enjoy when I get up. I highly recommend trying this smoothie out!

These are three of my healthy, go-to breakfast recipes that are vital to my mornings. Not only are they packed with good nutrients to get you through the day, but they taste amazing and will satisfy your morning cravings! I hope that you try some of these recipes out and feel free to substitute some of the ingredients with your own personal favorites.

Leave a Reply

